Ports of Indiana Commission Elects New Chairman Vincent Replaces Kaczmarek after 15 years of Service

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (March 3, 2020) – The Ports of Indiana Commission selected Micah Vincent as its next chair during its last meeting.

The vice president of strategy + M&A at The Heritage Group, Vincent succeeds Ken Kaczmarek, who previously served as chairman for 15 years.

“I am excited to join the Ports of Indiana Commission and to work closely with the Ports of Indiana team to execute our mission of growing Indiana’s economy by developing and maintaining a world-class port system,” Vincent said. “The footing is strong and only getting stronger, and I look forward to having a front seat to the Ports’s future success.”

Recently appointed commissioners David Fagan and Micah Vincent will replace members Ken Kaczmarek and Miriam Robeson, respectively. Kaczmarek and Robeson have served past their expired terms and remained in service to the Commission until the two new appointments were made. Robeson has served as a commissioner since 2015.

“It has been a joy and an honor to serve on the Ports of Indiana Commission,” Robeson said. “I appreciate all of the hard work the team is putting forth to deliver greater economic results for the state and its customers.”

Kaczmarek was first appointed by former Indiana Gov. Mitch Daniels in 2005. Under his leadership, the annual tonnage has increased 60 percent and the assets managed increased over 66 percent, according to Ports of Indiana CEO Vanta E. Coda II.

“Our team is incredibly grateful for the leadership offered by Ken and Miriam,” Coda said. “They have helped build a solid foundation before we go to the next level. We are encouraged and ready for the next chapter with Chairman Vincent.”

During the recent commission meeting, Indiana Gov. Eric J. Holcomb presented Kaczmarek with the Sagamore of the Wabash, the state’s highest civilian honor, for his years of service with the Ports of Indiana Commission.

“I am really proud to work for the Ports of Indiana these past 15 years,” Kaczmarek said. “This is the end of the last gavel with the Ports of Indiana.”

After his remarks, Kaczmarek adjourned his final Ports of Indiana meeting.

The Ports of Indiana Commission is a seven-member, bipartisan board appointed by the Governor for staggered four-year terms to approve the organization’s major projects, budgets and strategic objectives.


About the Ports of Indiana: The Ports of Indiana is a statewide port authority operating three ports on the Ohio River and Lake Michigan. Established in 1961, the Ports of Indiana is a self-funded enterprise dedicated to growing Indiana’s economy by developing and maintaining a world-class port system. Information: Follow us on Twitter: @PortsofIndiana.

Media contact: Alicia Thomas


* indicates required